Well done to our Juniors and their organisers on a very successful summer season. Many thanks to Vice Captain Seamas Breen and Brian Guinan on arranging the competitions on the Mondays  and to Captains Sean Stone and Aoife Cashen for all their hard work. We wish them every success in their golfing career

Results of the Captains’ prizes to the Juniors.  Boys 3h. 1st Ben Haslam. Sam Smith Darragh McNamara.  

Girls 3h. Orla Lenihan Cloe Kinsella Sorcha Moylan. 

Boys and Girls 9h. 1st Brandon Beale. 2nd Adam Fitzgerald.

18h. 1st Arran Murtagh. (36) 2nd Jonathan Bourke (36) and Cian Harte (36)



Seniors. P Grealy J Gilmartin J Coleman F Jackson 42; M Dempsey T Rosney B Wilks 43.

Bookies Prize. 1st Thomas Hogan (12) 66 nett. 2nd Liam O’Brien (11) 67 nett. Gross:John Dwyer (3) 76. 3rd Tony McCormack (15) 67 nett.

Open Tuesday. 1st Christy Purcell (10) 41 pts.  2nd Keith Malone (14), Abbeyleix. 41 pts. Gross: Aidan Dooley (scr) 37 pts. 3rd Laurence Smith (5) 36 pts.

Presidents’ Mixed. 1st Martin Young  Mary Ryan Trish Guinan 27.2  2nd Alan Naylor Liam O’Brien Michael Yates Catherine Tooher. 27.3 3rd Kathleen Doorley Tony McCormack Kieran Flaherty 28.1


For your diary

Thurs.8 Sept. 10.15. Seniors.

Sat. 10 Sept. Societies.

Sat./Sun 10/11 Sept. 14h Turkeys.

Sun.11 Sept. 1.00. Shot gun start for Lady President Gemma’s Prize.

Mon.12 Sept. Start of 9h Turkeys.

Tues. 13 Sept. Open Tuesdays. All welcome.


Ladies golf

Tipp V Offaly

The annual Tipp V Offaly 18 Hole High/Low challenge took place on last Saturday, 3rd September.   This event is again very generously sponsored by Gael4orce: Ann Frawley & Georgina Chambers to whom we are most appreciative. Thanks to all the ladies who supported this fun day and enjoyable day was had by all especially the Offaly ladies who took the honours on this occasion. One must remember that the Tipp side will be back to full strength next year so don’t get any ideas about a two in a row!!  On the evening prior to the presentation of prizes we had  Crossogue Preserves from Ballycahill, Thurles who had a Tasting Session and a Promotional Sale  and we have to compliment Veronica Molloy on her excellent range of produce available and we will be seeing more of Veronica in the near future.


Lady President’s Day

Lady President’s Mrs. Gemma Butler’s day will take place on next Sunday with a shotgun start at 1.00 p.m. The list is posted for entries and the draw will take place on Thursday 8th September. The list is also posted for ladies wishing to have meal immediately after the golf so please do put your name down. On Thursday 8th we are also running a 9 hole competition from 4.30 p.m. after which the draw for partners will take place. The Bookies will also be on hand to try and make amends for their previous takings! On behalf of all the members we wish Gemma a wonderful and memorable day next Saturday.


The Glenns Trophy

Ladies, it’s that time of the year again with the annual Glenns Trophy Qualifying competition running from Monday, 29th August to Saturday, 24th September.   The details of the competition are posted in the locker room for your information and attention.  


A.A. Team News

Roscrea Golf Club last Sunday was the venue for the I.L.G.U. Mid-Leinster Regional Finals with Birr Senior Foursomes qualifying for the final to meet Enniscorty.   We extend commiserations to the team of Lady President Gemma Butler/Martina O’Brien, Ann Frawley/Susan Reidy, Mairéad McIntyre/ Vera Smyth, Ann Kenny/Emer Hanniffy and also to the Team Captains Ann McIntyre and Yvonne Boland who on the day were unlucky to be beaten by the ladies from the South East.  These girls put in a huge personal effort for this team and left no stone unturned in their preparation for all the matches to date and they are to be highly commended.  A huge thank you to all the members who traveled to support the girls on last Sunday, it was very much appreciated by the team.     

We extend congratulations to Roscrea Golf Club who hosted this prestigious event and did so very admirably and also to congratulate the victorious Roscrea Minor Cup Team who now go forward to the All-Ireland Semi-Finals in two weeks time.